How Domain Name Servers Work


Lots More Information

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Bluehost Web Hosting. "Parked Domain Definition." https://my.bluehost.com/hosting/help/79 (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • Chirgwin, Richard. "'The Inmates Have Taken over the Asylum': DNS Godfather Blasts DNS over HTTPS Adoption." The Register. Oct. 23, 2018. (Nov. 5, 2018) https://www.theregister.co.uk/2018/10/23/paul_vixie_slaps_doh_as_dns_privacy_feature_becomes_a_standard/
  • Cisco. "IP Addressing and Subnetting for New Users." August 10, 2016. https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/ip/routing-information-protocol-rip/13788-3.html (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • Cooney, Michael. "ICANN's Internet DNS Security Upgrade Apparently Goes off Without a Glitch." Network World. Oct. 12, 2018. (Nov. 5, 2018) https://www.networkworld.com/article/3313341/internet/icanns-internet-dns-security-upgrade-apparently-goes-off-without-a-glitch.html
  • GoDaddy.com. "Help: What are zone files and zone records?" GoDaddy.com, Inc., May 5, 2011. (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • GoDaddy.com. "Manage DNS Zone Files." https://www.godaddy.com/help/manage-dns-zone-files-680 (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • Greenberg, Andy. "ackHacker Lexicon: What is DNS Hijacking?" Wired. Sep. 4, 2017. https://www.wired.com/story/what-is-dns-hijacking/ (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • InterNIC. "InterNIC FAQs on the Domain Names, Registrars, and Registration." InterNIC. Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers. Sept. 25, 2003. (Nov. 5, 2018) http://www.internic.net/faqs/domain-names.html (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • IT Geared. "What is an SOA Record in DNS?" Oct. 28, 2011. http://www.itgeared.com/articles/1132-what-is-soa-record-in-dns/ (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • Lammele, Todd. "Getting to Know Your IP Addresses." Tech Republic. May 3, 2001. https://www.techrepublic.com/article/getting-to-know-your-ip-addresses/ (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • Modi, Archit. "How to Find Your IP Address in Linux." OpenSource.com. May 17, 2018. https://opensource.com/article/18/5/how-find-ip-address-linux (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • Morgenroth, Sven. "Pros and Cons of DNS Over HTTPS." Security Boulevard. Nov. 1, 2018. https://securityboulevard.com/2018/11/pros-and-cons-of-dns-over-https/ (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • Price, David. "How to Find Your Mac's IP Address." MacWorld. April 24, 2018. https://www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/mac/mac-ip-address-3676112/ (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • Rusen, Ciprian. "8 Ways to Find Your IP Address in Windows (All Versions)." Digital Citizen. Dec. 6, 2017. https://www.digitalcitizen.life/find-ip-address-windows (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • SecurityTrails.com. "8 Tips to Prevent DNS Attacks." July 4, 2018. https://securitytrails.com/blog/8-tips-to-prevent-dns-attacks (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • Verisign. "The Verisign Domain Industry Brief." 2018. https://www.verisign.com/en_US/domain-names/dnib/index.xhtml (Nov. 5, 2018)
  • Wilson, Jeffrey and Randall, Neil. "How to Register a Domain Name for Your Website." PC Mag. July 27, 2018. https://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,33918,00.asp (Nov. 5, 2018)