If you are fed up with Facebook and want to go offline forever, you may want to delete your Facebook account and leave cyberspace socializing to others. You may just want to quit Facebook temporarily and hide all your information; in that case, you have to log on to your Facebook account and click on Account at the top right of the page. Click on Account Settings, and at the bottom of the box you will see the option "deactivate account." Once you deactivate your account, your profile and all the information in your Facebook account including your pictures cannot be accessed by other Facebook users. This action does not delete all the information that is stored by Facebook, and if you reactivate your account everything will be back online, just as before.
If you want to permanently delete your Facebook account, first log on to your account. You can log into the Help Center for information on how to delete the account, and click to submit a request to permanently delete your Facebook account. Follow the instructions, which include steps to ensure that you really want to permanently delete your account and that you understand that the information in your account cannot be retrieved. Do not try to log in again until you receive an email message that your account has been deleted. If you log in during that time, you will be asked if you want to cancel your request, and your account will not be deleted.
When you delete your account you have to be aware of several privacy issues. You can't be sure what information Facebook saves in their databases, and once something is out in cyberspace, like a picture or a post, you can't be sure that it hasn't spread further than you expected.