Think carefully before you block someone. Once you do, you're dead to them in the Facebook universe.

Screenshot by Karen Kennedy

Can You Tell if Someone Blocked You on Facebook

There is no short answer to the question, "Can you tell if someone has blocked you on Facebook?" It depends. Your ex-spouse, former friend or awful boss won't get any sort of notification that you've blocked them. However, if you have a history of Facebook contact with the person you blocked or if she is paying close attention to her account and friends list, she'll notice that you've blocked her.

You will disappear from her Facebook world completely -- and she will be gone from yours. If your ex was listed as a partner under your relationship status, he or she will no longer be listed. His face will vanish from your friends list, and you will be absent from your former friend's list as well. In addition, with blocking, your ex-friend will not be able to find you if he searches for you on Facebook. In a virtual sense, you are dead to him.

This is a pretty drastic step to take with people you have to continue to interact with in real life, because chances are, they'll eventually notice that you've dropped out of their virtual world. However, it may be what you choose to do at the end of a bad relationship, if you're being stalked by a former friend or if someone you never see in person posts things you find upsetting or just annoying.

The only way to restore a friendship that you have blocked is for you to reach out with a new friend request to the person you shut out. He or she will not be able to initiate a friendship again.

If you've decided that blocking is the way to go, here are the easy steps to doing it:

  1. Click "account" in the upper right corner of your Facebook page.
  2. Select "privacy settings."
  3. Under "block lists" at the bottom center of the page, click "edit your lists."
  4. At the top, under "block users," add the name or e-mail address of the person you'd like to block.
  5. Click "block."

A much less drastic step, and one that is less likely to be noticed, is to hide someone. On the next page, we'll show you a discreet way to keep those unwanted posts out of sight.